Dirty Tank!

jkogut

New Fish
Jun 14, 2009
Hello! I'm in need of help :( I've had my saltwater tank for almost 2 months now. It's a 10 gallon tank with 2 clown fish & a sand starfish. My tank has been fine, but just this past 2 weeks there is some brown, hairy looking crud thats all ontop of my sand. I'm not sure what it is or where it came from.. I want to know how to get rid of it before it gets worse! My fish used to swim all over the place & im noticing they haved both been staying underneath a glass bridge that i have in there. Could they be stressed? Please help! Im a beginner & everytime i try to clean out the brown stuff it instantly comes back the next day.. What am i doing wrong?

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana
sounds like cyano bacteria. Decrease the amount you are feeding and increase the flow with powerheads. Usually caused by low water flow and high nutrients. Do a large waterchange and reduce your feeding these should help.

TRe

Elite Fish
Feb 20, 2005
ft. lauderdale
do you have any live rock in ther? can u get a pic of the "brown, hairy looking crud "? maybe just diatoms which is normal in a tank this young... like lorna says do like a 3g water change... tell more about your tank tho so we can help better like filtration, live rock, sand?

jkogut

New Fish
Jun 14, 2009
Hey.. I couldnt find this post where you have both answered me, so then i typed a new one & found this one ! lol Now what are powerheads? Yeah I have live rock in there, and gravel which is new because the lady at the store told me its not good to have sand in there(i thought was weird because oceans are sand & its saltwater tank). So i will do the large water change & slow up on feeding. Also, there is always green stuff on my rocks & on some of the gravel.. I try to scrape it off and keep cleanign but is this bad? Is this part of th cycle??

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana