doing my research

Sep 11, 2007
www.forrestcook.com
Okay - I'm somewhat new to this fish thing.

I had an aquarium a while back (15 or so years), but I didn't take very good care of it. Now I'm trying to do things the right way - so I'm reading lots. I've got a few questions for all of you.

The local petsmart has a startup kit with a 29 gallon tank and some extras for $104, and my local craigslist has used tanks around 55 gal for roughly $150. For a beginner (we'll just call me that), I've read that larger water amounts are easier to deal with as mistakes are more diluted due to the larger volume.apart from that, would you say that a 55 is noticeably more enjoyable than a 29? I know i'd be able to have more fish in a larger tank (I've been told one inch of fish per gallon of water), but the space and price difference (and new vs used) makes me pause.

Next - I've read about some easy to maintain starter fish (not looking for hardy for the purpose of cycling, as I plan on fish-less cycling my tank) andthose common ones are all well and good - but what I would really -LOVE- to have is some kind of cool little crab or lobster friend in there. I hear they help out with cleaning, and they just look darn cool. Is salt water the only domain that these are available in? Or can I find cool crustaceans for fresh water?

Also, is there a resource that says what fish are cleaner or mossier than others? I was raring to go get a pleco (love the way they look) but then I heard they're very messy and increase the amount of work to do with the water... I'm obviously not opposed to working on the tank, but I want it to be manageable.

I'm looking forward to this as a stress relief for me after work... I'm a cop and need to wind down before I can sleep at night. (running on 3 hours after shift right now... 3am should be sleepy time!)

All your help is greatly appreciated and any links for starter products (good substrate or rocks) are also appreciated.