Dwarf Gourmi Tank Mates

UP UP AND GUPPY

Superstar Fish
Mar 14, 2006
Sacramento, California
www.myspace.com
What would be apropriate tank mates for a dwrf gourmi in a ten galoon tank?

The list i put together was as followed(not all the fish recomended will be put in the tank):
Bala Shark(or any other shark)
Betta(absolutely not, found out earlier)
Other Gourmi's
Barbs
Loaches
Platy's

Any other suggestions are welcome being I am a noob at fish raising.

Last edited:

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
Bala shark... get very large (12") and are active and need groups... not a good 10g fish. They need more like 75g if you want them.

Other gouramis... not unless they are female dwarfs. Male gouramis tend to fight, esp. in smaller tanks. Other species of gourami in general get too big for a 10g, or the smaller ones are really hard to find and need very good water quality.

Barbs... depends on the barb. Smaller barbs should be fine (cherry, golden), larger schooling barbs (tiger, tinfoil) need more space and get too big for a 10g anyways.

Loaches... in a 10g, you are pretty much limited to kuhli loaches. They are a lot of fun though, I have them in a 10g. They like groups of at least 3.

Other suggestions... platies, guppies, tetras, otos, snails... pretty much anything suited for a 10g will work with a dwarf gourami, with the exception of more male dwarf gouramis or a betta.

Sep 16, 2005
okay... here we go.

i would say no to pretty much any shark... not only do most of them get too large for a ten, they are pretty agressive, much more so than a dwarf gourami would be.

i wouldn't try any other gouramis either, as they will get cranky and territorial with each other, especially if you end up with more than one male.

male bettas, as you already learned... no way. a female betta, however, would be just fine in my experience. i've kept them with a blue, neon dwarf, and honey gourami in three different tanks.