equipment for 120 gallon tank

statman

Medium Fish
Nov 3, 2004
iowa
Visit site
I need help planning out my product purchases for my upcoming tank. The tank is either a 120 or 125 gallon tank, I cant remember which. The dimensions are 60L x 18W x 26H. I also plan on putting a 20 gallon refugium underneath, that is as big as my stand will allow.

I plan on having fish, live rock, and whatever corals my lighting will support. Since i have 60 inchs to cover, im looking at two 30in lights, and they seem to be a rarity as im having a hard time finding them. Ive been looking at t5's in that range but as i said they seem to be hard to find.

Also I have zero knowledge at all on skimmers, can somone point me in the right direction here? I plan on hiding it in the refugium so it needs to be able to fit nicely in a 20 gallon. And speaking of refugium, with my tank specs can somone tell me what sort of gear I need to run this? Mainly the pump an all that jazz, also any recomendations on where to get an overflow box from?

Im going to run koralia's for the flow, but not really sure how many I should use. Also any idea how many bags of sand I will need to purchase? Anything else im missing other than heaters, sand, salt, and water?

Thanks in advacne ;p

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana
Well you haven't mentioned live rock and a tank that size will need at least 120lbs but really should have more in the line of 180lbs you will also need to decide if you are planning on a deep sand bed or just a covering of sand for asthetics. This site has a sand bed calculator to assist you and given your dimensions a 4" sand bed of aragonite sand needs about 200lbs of sand.

Reef Central Online Community

there is really good set up information here:

Reef Set-up

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana
hmmmm that return pump may be a little on the light side. I would look at a minimum of a twin overflow and return of 1200 gph.....