Fish Cycle

paige

Medium Fish
Jun 26, 2006
Burleson, TX
I got a new 46g and wanted to do a fish cycle with zebra danios? How many should I use? I was thinking 7-10...is that too many or too few?:confused:

Tomas

Medium Fish
Jan 1, 2006
Not sure, I think 10 would do fine, but I would personally go with 5 because if they all die( lets hope not lol) you would not be in a huge loss. Also, look into red eyed tetras

paige

Medium Fish
Jun 26, 2006
Burleson, TX
I have pretty high pH...7.9...so tetras don't usually thrive in my water. I've never lost a fish during a cycle but I'm thinking I'll go with 7 danios. If I went with 10 and they all survived that would be a lot of activity in one tank...7 danios is probably plenty...and that leaves a lot of room for adding stuff later on. Wish me luck!

paige

Medium Fish
Jun 26, 2006
Burleson, TX
I've never done a fishless cycle before. I did read online about using granular ammonium chloride to get the cycle going...and I have easy access to that (scientist husband). But I'm confused when the cycle comes to and end do I just change the water and put in fish? If I can't get to the LFS right away do I just wait to change the water until I'm ready to go? Also, do I need to fully stock the aquarium to keep the bio-filter going or can I still slowly stock? I like to stock slowly and keep my tank a little under-stocked for those impulse buys :D

amd

Large Fish
Jun 4, 2006
north carolina asheville area
stock slowly, everytime you add a fish the amonia will spike a little and then nitrites then nitrates, so i guess im saying that it will go through a cycle everytime, depending on the size of tank/fish , sometimes it may not even show up on tests. mine didnt, but it was 1 1inch fish every few weeks, so...

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod