Fish Died within 12 Hours

Feb 15, 2011
Hello,
I am having trouble starting my fish tank. This is my first try at fish. I have a 10 gallon tank, filter, heater, and undergravel filter with airstone. I filled the tank and added Aqua Safe and proper PH 7.0 (Conditioner and buffer) and left the tank set for a little over 24 hours. Also, we have softened water. The PH of the tap water is about 7.8/8.0. The ph of the tanker went down to 7.2 then has climbed back to about 7.6. We added 2 mystery snails, 2 red wag platies, 1 fern, and 2 mollies. We had the water tested at a local national chain pet store where we bought the fish, before purchasing the fish there. We added the fish 12 hours ago. So far, 1 molly has died and 1 platy is looking too good, ie laying on the bottom of the tanker not moving much. I am not sure how to tell if the snails are okay; they both have there trap doors still attached and do not smell. I changed out 1.5 gals of water with so previously pre-treated water to try to slow the demise.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Jake

Aug 13, 2010
Sicklerville, NJ
When the store tested the water, what were the readings? I would remove all the inhabitants and return them to the store until you figure this out. Most people on this forum will tell you not to mess with the PH, as long as it is stable. If the water was 7.8 out of the tap and then 7.2 after the addition of chemicals, and now 7.6 that may have contributed to their death. Do you have your own means of testing the water?

Feb 15, 2011
Texas
I'd agree about not messing with the ph. I'm also a newb and live in a high ph area and have water that's 7.8. Despite this, my mollies and platy have lasted 2 months so far in a 5 gallon and the molly lasted 2 months before that in my bigger home aquarium before I moved him to the office and all seem really happy and healthy.

I wish I'd known about the fiish-less cycle before I started my first tank, have you looked into it?

Monoxide

Large Fish
Dec 19, 2008
Hello,