Fish ID help/advice

I'm starting a 30 gallon salt tank, and although a tropical vet, I'm new to the Salt world. After the tank is set up (cycling and, patience, patience, patience) I plan on getting just a few fish (this will be a fish only set up).

One fish that is a "must" is the orange clown, or as my 2 year old will tell you, the "nemo" fish. My wife would like something that is "cobalt blue" and perhaps with yellow trim. I've seen - I think - Tangs that are like this, but am aware this type is not a good choice for my size tank.

Can anyone tell me a type of fish that fits this description and would be ok in a 30GL and co-exist with a clown? (the fish, not me). Thanks!

toodles

Large Fish
Jan 6, 2003
USA
Visit site
Either the yellow-tail blue damsel or the orange-tail blue damsel will fit the bill for the yellow trim and blue color and the ability to get along with the clownfish. I would suggest that after you do a fishless cycle, you add the clownfish first.....even though clowns can hold their own, it is a good idea to give them the upper hand with damsels whenever possible. I would also suggest that you buy a damsel smaller than the size of the clownfish.....
Good luck, have patience and read, read, read!!!!:D

NTidd

Large Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Kalamazoo, MI
Also I would say a small pygmy angel would do the trick also. I just added a tomotoe clown inot my tank, and my 2 stripe damsels don't mess with him. Even during feeding time. Not sure about the percula clown though.

sinasster

Large Fish
Nov 21, 2002
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Visit site
You may have heard that damsels are aggressive. If not than you should know that they are!! very aggressive. They will taunt your fish non stop until they die. There are acceptions of course.