Fishless cycling with live plants

FishyTT

Small Fish
Aug 23, 2005
San Jose, CA
I'm new to this hobby.

I would like to start a fishless cycling by adding Ammonia following Iggy's post on this site. I do plan to have several live plants in my 72g tank.

Is it harmful to the plants with the ammonia added during this fishless cycling?

Is it OK for me to use CO2 during this fishless cycling?

Thank you in advance for your help.

SANND

Large Fish
Jul 20, 2005
Washington, DC
The ammonia won't hurt the plants. I think they might like that ammonia actually. :) Can't see why the c02 would be a problem, someone else around here can address that better.

f8fan

MFT Staff
Nov 19, 2004
Bangor, Maine
I totally know *nothing* about plants - but don't they consume the same nutrients that make your tank, "cycle"? Ammonia, nitrite, nitrate?
Correct me if I'm wrong, I admittedly know nothing about plants (other than when the plastic ones go on sale at PetCo!) ;)

Avalon

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Ft. Worth, TX
www.davidressel.com
Why use a fishless cycle? Set-up the tank w/ plants, wait a week, then add fish incrementally a little here and a few there. I don't think I'd use ammonia. If you have high light, CO2, and inorganic nutrients, it's possible to add a full load of fish given enough plant mass. I set up all of my tanks like this and have yet to lose a fish, as a large plant mass can negate a cycle. However, since you said you were new to the hobby, use the week after set-up to dial in your CO2 and get it steady. In a tank that large, a cycle is not a big problem when you factor in plants and water changes; the main problem are the "oops" that come with being new to the hobby.

revfred

Superstar Fish
Jun 21, 2003
St. Paul, MN
Visit site