Fishless tank has fizzy water???

Mandy

Small Fish
Sep 3, 2009
New Jersey
I bought a 26 gallon bowfront tank 2 days ago and started setting it up. As of yesterday, I added all of the gravel and artificial rocks and plants. When I woke up this morning, the tank seemed clear. Today I rearranged the decorations and added about 12 live plants from the pet store. Within about 10 minutes of redecorating I noticed the tank is EXTREMELY bubbly. I know this probably isn't an accurate or helpful description, but it's the only word I can think of that describes it. The filter is pouring out water, which seems to fizz, somewhat loudly, every ten minutes or so. I'm new to aquariums, so I have lots of questions, but I haven't seen any other comments or threads with something like this listed. I'd post of picture of this crazy bubbly water, but I'm not any sharper with blogs than I am with aquariums :) I wasn't planning on checking the chemical levels in the tank, as the pet store said I can bring them a sample and they'd do it for me in about a week or so when it gets closer to being ready for fish. I don't know - any advice is appreciated.
Thanks for reading...

Last edited:

pigpen

Small Fish
Jun 23, 2009
just in case you were mis informed or just did not know. you can not just set up a tank without fish in it and run ot for a week or two and expect any levels of anything to rise.missfishy has a great link in her signature that will completly explain the art of cycling a tank.and as for the bubbles did you overdo it on the waterconditioner.i notice when i accidently overdo it my water bubbles more than usual.hope that helps and if im way off someone else sort us out please?

exhumed07

Superstar Fish
Apr 30, 2006
Illinois