frag a zoo???

TRe

Elite Fish
Feb 20, 2005
ft. lauderdale
my zoos seem to do it all by them selves but i was wondering if there is anyway that i can make them spead faster??? cant you just cut a piece off and set it on the otherside of the tank???

FWSWBW

Medium Fish
Nov 19, 2006
tennessee
I'm no expert but when I had a large colony..I just took a sharp knife and removed some at the base, then super glued them to a shell, it worked. Also I moved a colony and stuck it on a powerhead when I was cleaning..forgot about it, went on vaca and in a couple of weeks when I got back, took it off and it left behind 2 straglers, now there is a colony on my powerhead..

Attachments

Dadstank

Large Fish
Nov 4, 2006
Minnesota
Nice pic fwswbw and you are right about fragging them... I do have one warning about zoo's though... now i'm not trying to scare anyone but you do have to be careful. Zoo's can have a toxin called a palytoxin which is one of the most lethal organic toxins out there...

Palytoxin

There was a guy who fragged some zoo's in a tub... his dog stuck his nose in the water and ended up dead about 6 hours later... i'm not a dog person but still that would suck...this was on RC.com a while back...
NOT ALL ZOO'S HAVE THIS Some have lots and some have little...
Just use latex gloves when you handle them after cutting, from what I understand it is in them and not released unless cut or damaged...

FWSWBW

Medium Fish
Nov 19, 2006
tennessee
Dadstank...wow thanks for the info, I did not know that. Poor puppy dog, i will be more careful in the future. This toxin..it must not be poisonous to sea life??? There are a type of snail that eats zoos, I forget the name of them.. Wow on here two days and already found out a bunch of things that I had no idea about..this is a great site.

FWSWBW

Medium Fish
Nov 19, 2006
tennessee