Getting Into the Hobby...

Newman

Elite Fish
Sep 22, 2009
Northern NJ
Hi, im new to the forum. I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to keeping successful fish tanks of my own. I remember that my grandparents and I have had swordtails and guppies (not to mention angels) in a ten gal tank when i was around 7 years old. Obviously didnt learn much from then haha.

The best i have ever done with a tank of my own was keeping a beta alive for 2 years in a 1 gal bowl (i know pathetic) Unfortunately i went through about 5 betas before i realized that i really did not know what the hell i was doing.

Now I understand that fish sometimes die of unexplained causes, even in the hands of experienced fish owners who regularly monitor the aquarium's pH, KH, GH, Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate, Copper, etc...etc...and various other levels. But having learned about all this useful information from sifting various articles on forums, freshwater tank guides, (and other resources) I feel the need to go back to what i have grown up with, and attempt this tank-keeping hobby once again, this time taking it seriously.

It has been about 8 years since i had my last personal tank (not counting the family goldfish tank, which will be the topic of this thread). speaking of this GF tank, my family has owned this 40 Gal tank for more than 10 years. Until I moved in (at around age 10) the tank only had goldfish. this tank has been a real disaster because we must have gone through at least 90 different goldfish since then. The things die almost one for every month that passes by it seems. Finally we decided enough fish slaughter is enough, we clearly did not take this tank seriously because the goldfish genocide is proof of our negligence.