Going to be too crowded?

cbk.o4

New Fish
Mar 23, 2006
Indiana
www.myspace.com
Hi all. Im completely new to fishkeeping hobby, but i am eager to get involved.

Ive had a few lil tanks when i was a kid but i never really took care of them, just a kid i guess. I have always wanted a huge aquarium in my house when i get older, and there is no better time than now to start learning how to take care of it you know what i mean.

So i started doing alot of research and came across alot of information i had no clue about, i.e. cycling, and how to guage how large a heater u need, things like that. One thing i have seen alot is people say that you should first decide what kind of fish u want then start thinking about tank sizes and go from there, so i did just that.

I was originally thinking about gettin a lil 10 gallon, but ive seen the stickies and read on many sites that the bigger the tank the more leeway (sp?) you have with pH and all that. So now i am thinkin at least a 20 or 25, maybe a 30 if i can really find some space in here..(heck finding space for a 20 is gonna be a project in itself). But anyways to my main question. I have decided what kind of fish i want to go in my tank, i was wondering if these would be ok in the same tank, and if they will be happy in the size tank i get.

The fish are:

2 Blue Gourami (i read somewhere that combining the different colors of that species makes them pretty aggressive)

3 Belted Brabs (i have seen it say to keep them in a decent size group to keep them calmer)

2 Glass Catfish

2-3 Black Ruby Barbs (again says be kept in schools of three or more, but i figured the other barbs would make up for the rest of the school...or was i wrong??)

and then eventually

1 Otto

also maybe a snail or something like that.