Gold Gourami Sex Identification

May 15, 2006
Central Maine
Gold Gourami Sex Identification (fighting problem)

Hi, newbie here! Both to the board and aquaria. I started a 20gal in Feb. and love this hobby! Right now I am keeping:

2 Gold Gourami
1 Rosy Barb
2 Silver Lyretail Molly
1 Black Molly
1 Pleco

I've been through some rough times but am slowing getting the hang of this.
I've only lost one fish (I had another Rosy Barb) and didn't have much luck with live plants.

My silver mollies are mating and I've got fry here and there, although I'm not doing anything with them so I doubt any will survive. (Don't have the time or experience.)

Ok, anyway to my questions: When I bought the gouramis, I wanted two females, because I figured that they would get along the best. So I asked the store worker how to tell them apart and he said the females have a rounder dorsal fin. He also said that all of the gouramis in the store tank were probably female anyway, that's how they are shipped to the store. So we netted two that had rounded dorsal fins and I brought them home.

Now (about 2 1/2 months later) one of the gouramis is nearly twice the size of the other (he was the small one when bought) and the dorsal fin is very pointed at the back end. The other gourami hasn't changed size much at all and the fin is still rounded. So do I have a male and a female here?

My concern is that they harass each other frequently, although I've seen no sign of injury yet. A lot of chasing around (sometimes quite violently) and they will " kiss " pretty violently, almost like headbutting with the mouth.

So my two questions are: How can you tell the sexes apart when young, and what's the best sex combination for the tank? Such as all female, 2 female and one male, etc. I don't think I could support more than one more gourami. Any advice?

Thanks

Last edited:

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod