Goldfish emergency, help greatly appreciated.

Jun 9, 2013
Dover, England
I am a school teacher and just over 4 weeks ago my class of departing students bought me two beautiful goldfish. I am completely new to fish keeping and will admit that I believed that my 2 three inch goldfish homed in a beautifully decorated 1 gallon goldfish bowl would live a long and happy life. Ah, how wrong I was.

Day 1, Problem 1: Goldfish laying at surface and gasping for air.
Solution: Internet research revealed happy fish rarely live at the surface. Bought an air pump and 1cm airstone, hooray problem solved goldfish residing at the bottom of the tank, long and happy life here we come.

Day 3, Problem 2: Goldfish had a white mark when I recieved him, little concerned.
Solution: Get back on the internet, suspect ammonia poisoning, buy interpet AP Mini filter, arrives several days later, installed tank. Begin doing 25 % water changes daily or every other day. Fine now, right? Wrong!

Day 4, Problem 3: Fish flakes say that the food should be eaten within 1 to 2 mins and to remove uneaten food, possibly the only useful info and redeeming feature of Goldfish Starter Kit. My fish don't seem to notice food on the surface. More internet research, ordered several food types inc sinking pellets and started to prepare veggies for my fish. Still unsure about frequency of feeding.

Day 14, Problem 4: Filter appears to be frothing!
Solution: Clean out filter, it is jammed pack full of brown muck. Feeling rather concerned about water quality start using Filter Aid and rinsing filter medium couple of times a week, reduce feeding to daily. Realise from research that ank is woefully undersized and uncycled. Fish still looking fine though. Identify that the inch of gravel at the bootom of the tank may be a problem, order gravel vacuum.

Day 18, Problem 5: Even though gravel cleaner is the smallest available, the pitiful depth of water in the bowl make the cleaner impossible to use.