Gourami being Attacked

Dec 26, 2008
Hi, so i'm new at this whole aquarium thing. I just set up my aquarium two days ago and got my first starter fish. I got two Hi Fin Black Skirt Tetras and 2 Gold Gouramis in my 10 gallon tank. They seemed to be fine for the first few hours but one of the tetras started nipping at one of my Gourami's fins. The gourami now sits in the corner of my tank behind a fake plant while the tetra waits for it to come out. I tried pushing the tetra away but even after it was gone the gourami stayed there. The Tetra now seems to be leaving the gourami alone but instead it is now being chased by the other gourami (they are about the same size) I did some research and it says that the gouramis can be territorial but i was told differently from the guy at the pet store. I'm thinking about returning one of the gouramis for another fish. Any ideas?

unwritten law

Superstar Fish
Sep 2, 2008
DC
gouramis can be mean and territorial, usually to other gouramis and usually more so in the larger varieties but I also heard recently the the skirt tetras can be nippy if they are in small numbers (streesed). If I were you Id return the gouramis, tell that guy he is an idiot and get a larger school of skirt tetras. A larger school of schooling fish looks better and is more active then then what you have now.

misterking

Superstar Fish
Aug 12, 2008
Manchester, UK
www.facebook.com
Unfortunately people in petstores are only interested in the money. Here are a few facts you need to take into consideration:

1. Two male gouramis will almost certainly not get on, especially in a tank as small as a 10. Gold gouramis can grow to 6 inches - only one can be kept in a 10. To check if they're males, look at the dorsal (top) fin. Pointed? you have a male. Rounded? female. Even with males AND females aggression can occur.