Gouramis Friends

kristalAK

Medium Fish
Feb 9, 2006
Anchorage Alaska
I'm new to fishtank keeping. I came across a nice 35gal tank and I've put 4 Gouramis in it along with 2 catfish and 1 pleco, I was wondering if anyone could tell me what other kind of fish I could put in there or should I just leave it as it is. Any help is appreciated!

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
What type of gouramis are they? Dwarfs, blues, etc. And what kind of catfish... cories? I'm kind of assuming you have blue/golden/three-line/opaline gouramis... in which case you've got a semi-aggressive tank started. You've got room for some barbs or something similar... you'll probably want something that schools, most of the single "showcase" type fish will not get along with 4 of the bigger gouramis who are introduced first. If your catfish are cories, you could up their school to 5-6 to fill out your bottom a little more.

Since you just added fish, wait a while til you add some more. Did you cycle the tank first?

Big Vine

Elite Fish
Feb 7, 2006
Florida
Yes, I'd like to know the answers to CAPSLOCK's questions as well.

Once your tank is cycled, and assuming your gouramies are of the type that CAPSLOCK mentioned---also assuming that you've got cory catfish of some sort (or at least nothing that will turn out to be huge!), I do have a suggestion for new tank-mates:

Bleeding-heart tetras...

I was very relunctant to get these since I find they almost always look so dull-colored at the LFS. When I took some home one day, I was thrilled beyond belief! Sure, they're a little dull when first introduced to the tank, but after a few days...and a good diet supplemented with bloodworms (they love this stuff!), they turn into magnificent little creatures.