great deal on a 55gal...but im a newbie..should i?

tessalion

Large Fish
Jun 4, 2006
PA
okay here's the deal...

Im very much a newbie to fish, i have a few fish bowls and thats it. I've spent the past few weeks doing a lot of research on cycling the tank, various types of fish and assorted details. I was planning on buying a 20 gallon in the next week or so. Before I went to the LFS and purchased one i decided to look in the classifieds. I figure, i live in a college town, its summer time, there's prolly lots of people trying to get rid of things. well i didnt find the 20 gallon i was looking for but i did find the following deal....

"55 Gallon Aquarium with everything that you need and extras (except for fish and water). Included is a 55 gal aquarium, wood stand, wood canopy, light, filters (undergravel and on the back), heaters, chemicals, food, decorations and more. Asking $250."

I have room in the apartment for it. And while i realize it will probably be a lot of maintanence...i think id be up for it. Obviously i wouldnt stock the thing full all at once but gradually. So what do all of you guys think, should i go for it or is this way too much for a newbie to handle?

FishLuvr

Large Fish
Jun 19, 2005
Pittsburgh, Pa
Its always best to get the biggest tank you can afford/maintain. A bigger tank is actually easier to maintain than a smaller one.

250 isnt a bad price, but i have seen a lot of similar deals with much better prices. also when buying a used tank, you want to make sure there aren't any leaks, cracks, or severe scratches as well.

You said you live in a college town in pa, where is that, i live in pittsburgh

'-JIN-'

Large Fish
Mar 21, 2006
Penang,Malaysia