Greetings and the like

sdivell

Medium Fish
Jul 20, 2007
Ottawa, Ontario
Hey everyone,

Thought I'd introduce myself before I ask everybody to help me with my new tank.

I'm new to the whole fish keeping hobby but I'm excited to get it going. Last night I purchased a 21 gal tank and stand w/ a power filter and a heater.
put 25lbs of gravel in it. 4 plants, couple pieces of rock and a hunk of drift wood on a slab of slate.

filled it with tap water, added the conditioner, turned on the heater and the filter.

I'm a noob so any advice u guys can throw at me i'd appreciate. I've been doing a lot of reading of all the stickies on the forum already.

cheers,

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
Welcome to MFT Scott! :) Sounds like you have a good start. Are you planning on trying a fishless cycle or fish-in cycle? (did you get around to that sticky yet? hehe)

What kind of fish are you thinking about keeping?

sdivell

Medium Fish
Jul 20, 2007
Ottawa, Ontario
Welcome to MFT Scott! :) Sounds like you have a good start. Are you planning on trying a fishless cycle or fish-in cycle? (did you get around to that sticky yet? hehe)

What kind of fish are you thinking about keeping?
Yes, I've read that sticky and as much as i'd like to get the tank settled and going before fish the g/f is really anxious to see some fish (fishies as she calls them) swimming around...So i'm going to fish-in cycle...i was thinking of a few danios (maybe 6) as i've read that they're tough fish. any thoughts?

i'd like to get some Tetras eventually as i really like the colouring (yes with a 'U', I'm Canadian) on them but I know they need more stable water.

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
Makes sense...its hard to look at that empty tank for very long. Danios would be my choice for a fish-in, 6 sounds like a good number. I think having those plants will help your cycle move quickly (if you have enough light to keep them happy).

There are some very neat kinds of tetras :)