Guide for noobs to set up a fish tank

big54bob

Superstar Fish
Dec 20, 2006
On my office chair playing Runescape
Guide for newbies to set up a fish tank

title is now Guide for Newbies to set up a fish tank.
ok your going through walmart or your lps and you look at the fish not knowing you could have them in your home.

Step 1. Setting up the tank.

First you need tank duh. If your in walmart you could find a starter kit. In my word this will be the best thing you can find. Rember bigger the better.
You will also need the substrate or gravel. Im no expert on this so can i have some experts on this post some help from the experts like Helena and Matt.
You might also want dercorations and stuff.
Now I am going to list some of the best kinds of decor u can find around:
Flower Pots: Great kind of decoration u can find at any store. I recomend to get the clay ones. Because Metal+water=rust and plastic+water=float.

Driftwood: Really good for any tank. But it floats. But u can get it to sink by getting it so water-logged by boiling it for an hour or two. Repeat if it don't keep on repeating it until it does. If its not your screwed.

Rocks: Makes the perfect place for some fish to breed and you can make caves with them.

Busted Cinderblocks: The reason why to use them they make great caves. For those of you who like playing with a sludgehammer u will like this. NOTE:Before you do this make sure you wash all rocks or cinder blocks. Take your hammer and wack it a few times.

Plastic Plants: Cheap and great
You will now need a filter, a heater, and maybe an air stone(not needed but what the hey) There are 2 types of filters that i know about.
HOB Filter: A good of type of filer that hang on the back of the tank. Just dont make the same mistake as me and forget to change the catidges.
UGF: In my opinion it is a pain to keep it running. It sits under the gravel and when it comes to cleaning it is a MESS!