Heater Placement Around Dec. & Plants

Apr 4, 2011
Hello all! I am new to the aquarium world and are in the process of setting up a 15 gal. freshwater tank. I have just one thing that is bugging me *twirlysmi I bought a Rena Smartheater so I can put it horizontally along the bottom section of the tank. How far do plants and decorations need to be from the heater? I am doing fake plants as of now and maybe getting a few live ones down the road. I just dont want to have a melt down between the heater and decorations! Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Mar 26, 2011
Malden, MA
Give it an inch if you are worried about it, but your filter constantly circulating water around everything should stop the heater from getting hot enough to melt anything as long as it it submerged. My ottos like to squeeze themselves into the tiny space between the heater and the glass from time to time, so it can't be too hot.

However!!! Be very careful when changing water and cleaning your tank to always unplug your heater first! When it is submerged, the heat is sucked into the water and everything is ducky. If it becomes un-submerged while you are cleaning the tank it will get super hot! So hot that when you pour more water into the tank to refill it, you can crack the glass tube that the heating element lives in. This is a great way to burn yourself (or a fish), electrocute yourself (or your fish), or break your heater. How do I know? Because I'm an idiot and I broke 2! that way.

I'm also an idiot who occasionally forgets to turn the heater back on when I'm done cleaning and have refilled the tank. Put a sticky note on the front glass or something to remind yourself. A cold fish is an unhappy fish! (Unless it's a gold fish). :)

skjl47

Large Fish
Nov 13, 2010
Northeastern Tennessee.