HELP - desintegrating coral!

Sep 27, 2007
I had been building my reef for about 8 months now...started with live rock, live sand and a few fish like damsels. after getting the feel for caring for just a few fish (coral friendly) and cleanup crew...i added a mushroom coral. he is purplish with green tips on the little short tentacles reaching off the surface. anyway, i placed him in the center depth of my 55gal with a moderate current and some began to bleach out and a few smaller ones desintegrated. now i noticed a bubble/gel like substance covering a couple pieces and it looks like it is loosening from the rock. one piece also has shrunken up and is more of a deep purple color (this one's not bleached out). what the heck is the problem? i am taking a water sample in to my local fish place for testing...(it was tested prior to putting in the coral and levels were great - this was just less than 1 week ago).

Sep 27, 2007
55 gallon -
water parameters unknown...local place does for free and i take a sample every couple days...they say all is fine..(again, i am going to take another sample in a couple hours)

lighting is:130 watts...fluorescent

yesterday i had read in several places to take out of strong current and high levels of light...so i moved it lower in my tank and now seems worse... i don't want to keep moving the poor thing and messing it up more...

i have the protein skimmer running too!

Last edited:
Sep 27, 2007
should i move him into a bit more current to help get the gunk off or wait to do anything till water test...

i have to say that over the last 8 months i have read and gained info from books and on-line and so many contradictions are found...this is my first blog joined...i appreciate any personal experience shared with me. the owner at the fish place i go to has MANY reefs so i have always taken his advice...glad to be able to be here and get yours too!

zoalover34

Superstar Fish
Jun 5, 2006
Kent, OH