HELP!!! My anemone is dying!

lhowie

New Fish
Jan 16, 2008
My anemone shrunk and looks dead already... I saw some white little stringy stuff coming out of it today. I am a beginner with this saltwater tank and I told my husband not to get any anemones but he still did so I can't even tell what kind of anemone it is that is dying... I know the other one is a carpet anemones which is just fine right now. The anemone that is dying is stryingy and has yellow tips. It's on the sand right now it moved from the rock we bought it with. I think when we first got it it ate a donzel but I dont know what they are living of right now. I know this sounds really bad because I really dont know what I'm doing here and I dont know if there is anything i can do to save this creature. If there is anything i can do to keep it alive and u know what it is please help!!!

Thank you,

Linda :(

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Welcome to the site :)

Can you let us know what your readings for salinity, ammonia and nitrates are? How long have you had the anemone? What kind of lighting do you have?

Anemones need a well established tank, excellent water quality and good lighting. This is a great site for information on bubble tip anemones (whether the rose color or the green color): Caring for these beautiful creatures | In living color with more pictures then you will find anywhere

If it's a different kind of anemone, perhaps you can post a picture. Or, check out this site for a visual identification: Melev's Reef - Visual Identification

lhowie

New Fish
Jan 16, 2008