Help needed urgently...

osmanoo

Small Fish
Nov 5, 2012
Islamabad, Pakistan
Hi everyone...
I am new to fish keeping. i have an approx. 55L tank and two inch gravel base and a oxygen pump. i had 9 2~3 inch gold fish variation and sucker fish in it...the first couple of weeks were fine, but then the fish started getting pale and started dying...i didnt know what to do...searched the net...changed the water around 30%. 6 of my fish died including the sucker. the rest three seemed to be doing fine. now i got another 4 gold fish and another sucker fish yesterday...the old fish are swimming fine but all the new gold fish are sitting at the bottom of the aquarium.i did a pH test and added some salt and sodium biphosphate to decrease the alkalinity of water but no use. i also have a heater in the tank and maintain a temp of 24~27'C. i feed them once a day...please tell me why are the fish sitting in the bottom. i dont want to loose them...please help....what should i do...some sample pictures are attached...
615998_10151189565793070_427189369_o.jpg 55050_10151189565223070_1259490755_o.jpg 174973_10151189566663070_241423231_o.jpg

Kayleigh750

Medium Fish
Dec 28, 2011
Canada
In my opinion, your problem is clearly that you have too many fish in such a small tank. 55 liters is approximately 15 gallons, which is barely enough tank space for ONE fish that can get as large and as dirty as a goldfish. Also, goldfish are cold water species, not tropical, so there is no need for a heater. Aside from that, and back to my point, your tank is overstocked, and they are probably dieing due to high ammonia or nitrate levels.

exhumed07

Superstar Fish
Apr 30, 2006
Illinois