Help Needed...

osmanoo

Small Fish
Nov 5, 2012
Islamabad, Pakistan
Dear All Seniors
pelase help me identify these fish...i got them as a present but dont know their type. the silver one and the ones with voilet and silver bodies... please identify these so that i can take better care of them...also some fresh pictures of my tank for your review... :) DSC_0613.jpg DSC_0616.jpg DSC_0632.jpg DSC_0515.jpg DSC_0520.jpg

GooGirl

Large Fish
Nov 20, 2012
Walla Walla Washington
I'm no fish expert, but...

Grey, skinny fish: no idea, I'll look in my fish book, later..
Grey-purple fish: some sort of tetras? They have the same sort of body shape.

Wait for other replies. I am not very experienced with fish, but that's just what they look like to me. I'll look through my fish book later to try to match pics.

You know what the others are, right? :p

Last edited:

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
The purple lined fish is a painted tetra - I think a white skirt tetra dyed with purple.
Silver fish - I am guessing some kind of algae eater, depending on what his mouth looks like. He looks kinda like a gold algae eater but silver. Or something in the "shark" group.

Before I read your post fully, I thought you were also asking to ID the goldfish... ;)

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA
Are these fish all in one tank? Remember you have both cold water fish and tropicals. Gold fish are cold water fish and do not do well in water the temps necessary for tropicals.

osmanoo

Small Fish
Nov 5, 2012
Islamabad, Pakistan
Thank you all for your comments...yes i also got suspicious about the platy getting pregnant *SUNSMILE*...plz tell me when should i expect the off springs and how should i take care of her and the newcomers...?