Help starting and stocking a 10 gallon tank.

rf53

New Fish
May 19, 2013
Hello,

I am not quite a beginner. I have some experience in keeping an aquarium. However, I am starting a 10 gallon tank for my son, and I can use some help. I started the new tank yesterday with a 20 gallon filter, a 10 gallon air pump and bubbler that I rigged up, gravel subtrate, a couple of small rock formations and artificial plants. Now we are starting a fishless cycle, although I am thinking about using a hardy fish in a couple of weeks to move things along with the full intention of having it survive. The only thing I have done to the water so far is treat it with Seachem Prime and thrown in a tiny bit of fish food (one feeding for one fish) to get things going.

I am looking for advise on how to stock the tank (species and numbers). I realize that with a 10 gallon tank we are limited as to numbers, but we want to do the best we can with small, clean fish. I know a betta might be high on some people's list, but their aggressive nature does not really appeal to us. I don't want my son waking up one day to find the betta has killed another fish.

As for conditions... We live in Florida. I want to avoid a heater if possible. The house temperature runs a constant 74 degrees with the A/C. Sometimes in the winter it may go down to 70 or so, but only for a few hours. There is more potential for it being over 74 than under 70 by far.

Additionally, I want an easy to maintain aquarium. I know we will have to do water changes, and that is fine, but I would like "clean" fish that require the least possible maintenance. After successfully keeping goldfish we are ready for the low end of maintenance.

Finally, this requirement comes from my son... the fish have to look "cool'. So there you have it.

To the questions:

1. Should I do a one species tank, or a community tank?
2. What hardy "cool" fish should I use, and how many?
3. Any specific requirements for the cycling based on the fish I select?