Help with Ammonia Levels

May 16, 2006
I am not exactly new to owning fish, as i have had an aquarium in some form or another, for the past seven years. however, for the past two years, i have been a college student and, as such, am required to move about every few months and cannot own a very large tank. i write now, only because i deeply concerned with my pets' current well-being, what with the moving about and the small aquarium they are housed in.

i currently own only a (admittedly deceptively large-looking) five gallon tank (though it actually holds about 6 gallons when full) with a fire-gourami, a killifish, a black moor and a largish plecostomus. these fish, minus the black moor, are the remnants of a much larger tank (50 gal) that i owned previously... (the other fish are kept by my old roommate along with the giant tank.)

the pleco is my main source of concern... having started at a tiny couple of inches when i first bought him (at which time he was housed in another small tank of only six to seven gallons) he grew to a (comparatively) monstrous five to six inches while living in the giant fifty gallon aquarium. after splitting the denizens of the large tank i had believed that my friend would keep the growing pleco (as the large aquarium is needed for the ammonia production of such a large fish) but, after a complicated turn of events, the pleco returned to my care. i am now forced to keep him with my other tank residents in my tiny five gallon tank.... a situation i know is unhealthy for all the fish involved,