How do i know that my tank is cycled or not?

Guanchy

Medium Fish
Jul 17, 2013
New York
hope all is well,

unfortunately i bought my tank from Petsmart a few months ago and i didnt cycle my tank because i didnt know anything about it. (I'm fairly new to the hobby). And the people that work there suck! i think i know more than them and i dont know a lot. seriously!

Ive been reading a lot about it online but i cant really understand how to do it. My LFS told me that my tank should be Cycling on its own. (but im not sure about this)

i kept buying fish and they kept dying after a few days and i didnt know why, until i read about cycling i guess they died because my water wasnt good.

i have a few neon tetras and cat fish in my tank now and ive had them for a while so im guessing my water is better than before.

When i tested my water these were the parameters:

PH: 7.6
High R PH : 7.4
Ammonia : 0.25ppm
NO-2 : 0ppm
NO-3: 0ppm

and im not sure what High R PH and the NO-2 AND -3 are, any idea?

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA
All you need to be concerned with is the Ammonia - which needs to be zero and does NO2 which is the nitrite. The nitrate should be about 20ppm and when you see some you will know your tank is cycled (assuming the ammonia and nitrite are zero. You really need to do daily partial water changes (25% - 50%) anytime your test shows either the ammonia and/or nitrite.

Feb 27, 2009
What sized tank to you have and how long has it been set up? What is your maintenance schedule?

What catfish do you have? Can you post a picture? Sadly, a lot of fish stores sell fish that are not suitable to be kept in aquariums long-term.

We hope we can help you complete the nitrogen cycle and keep happy/healthy fish.

FreshyFresh

Superstar Fish
Jan 11, 2013
East Aurora, NY
Gaunchy, given the parameters you listed, you're not cycled at all. Like said, a properly cycled tank will process all the ammonia (and nitrites).