How high is to high ?

TLM4x4

Large Fish
Jul 21, 2005
southern oregon coast
That is on the high-ER side but from what Ive read fish can acclimate to a higher PH and yes it is best to leave it alone, once you start messing with the PH it seems to cause the other balances to go wonky. Im by no means an expert but I have read afew things about this...what kind of fish do you keep or are wanting to keep?

Apr 9, 2006
College Station, Tx
i have a couple of guppys in the tank right now and seem to be doing ok, i wanted to get some neon tetras but wasnt sure if the ph was to high, perhaps i should check the ph at the lfs and make sure its not to dramatic of a diffrence. Only about a mile away so hoping its more or less the same.

Balance

Large Fish
Jul 16, 2003
Aurora, IL
www.myspace.com
fish can get used to any pH as long as they dont get tossed from pH 7 to pH 8 all in one shot!

i would ask you lfs what there pH is. that way you know what kind of change the fish will need to adjust too.

you might want to setup a quarantine tank with a pH that closely matches you lfs pH so you can slowly let the pH rise and the fish get accustomed to the higher pH.

but if you lfs has a pH similiar to yours (probably does), shouldn't be much of an issue since the fish will already be used to a high pH

davidmold

Small Fish
Apr 12, 2006
www.lanticmedia.com
You have to be very careful about ammonia levels with a high pH, since at 8.4 an amount of ammonia which is barely measurable by a standard kit (<0.25ppm) could be very dangerous for your fish. That's the only problem I could see.

rohnds

Large Fish
Apr 23, 2005
Austin, TX (born NYC)
With high pH level ammonia spike or even nitrate spike is not as dangerous as very low pH level. With low pH (mean the water acidic), the ammonia or even nitrates can turn be very dangerous to fish as they would be ionized.

Rohn

davidmold

Small Fish
Apr 12, 2006
www.lanticmedia.com