How much current is to much?

Nov 8, 2008
Hello, I am kind of new to the whole fish scene. I bought a 55 gallon tank and have had a little success with it, but i have a problem. I have an undergravel filter in it, and its supported by two power heads. It works great, except that the current seems to blow the fish around. The power heads are a maxijet 600 and a maxijet 400. I think that the problem may just be the 600. anyone have some ideas on what to do? i dont know if this is safe for the fish.

misterking

Superstar Fish
Aug 12, 2008
Manchester, UK
www.facebook.com
If the fish are fighting the current it's generally not a good sign. Too much current, especially for fish not adapted to it in their general build, causes a lot of stress to fish constantly having to fight it. I'd suggest either downsizing the 600, or taking that powerhead out altogher. There probably isn't need for two in a 55 gallon. What fish do you have in there?

Nov 8, 2008
would both sides be able to get pumped by just one power head? The tank has a pleco, 2 cory catfish, 3 upside down catfish, 6 fire tetras and 5 serpae tetras as of right now.

Chris_A

Large Fish
Oct 14, 2008
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
If it's a 4' 55gal I would say keep 2 PH's. Just down size the MJ600 if need be. That said though the flow shouldn't be too much for that tank with those fish. First maybe try pointing the PH's at the front glass to break up the current. Or, try pointing them across the tank maybe (less likely to work).

That's the other thing, Normally it's a good idea to have both PH's the same flow. That way it evens out the suction through the gravel. I've even heard of extreme cases where the gravel was not maintained and clogged so the stronger pump was simply pulling water backwards through the weaker one.

Could I talk you into scrapping the UGF entirely? (some people are adament about them so I don't try lol ;) )
Chris

alter40

Superstar Fish
Nov 26, 2007
Charlotte, NC