How to feed veggies ?

Apr 9, 2006
College Station, Tx
I'm completely new to this hobby so if i seem completely out in the dark ... i am ^_^

I've got 2 guppies, 2 otocinclus catfish and 2 pink kissing gourami's in a 10 gallon tank (didnt realize the gouramis would get to big for the ank till after i bought them, plan on giving them away when they get to big though).

Ive read that both the catfish and the gouramis like veggies. Now my question is would i feed them the same veggies i would buy at the grocery store, or is there some special fish veggies i dont know about. Also how would i feed them the veggies, just chop some little bits and toss them in the tank ?

any special cleaning techniqe to make veggies fish safe ?

any help would be greatly appreciated

kll1221

Large Fish
Mar 2, 2005
Michigan
yes same veggies as you would buy yourself.

You would blanch them (cucumber, zuccini and lettuce, I believe) and then weighed them down in the tank and make sure you remove any uneaten veggies.

Blanching means a fast cook so boil water and drop veggies in for a min or so then remove them and cool.

zoo minsi

Large Fish
Jan 8, 2005
michigan
Visit site
i always wondered why people blanch them i feed my guys zuchinni (sp?) and give it to them raw. I just cut a couple slices and wrap a lead plant wieght through em and drop em to the bottom. Then when they've eaten most of em i just pull whats left out.

Apr 9, 2006
College Station, Tx
i put 2 small pieces of zuchinni and 2 small pieces of cucumber, blanched. The gourami's seem to pick at it a little but no bites to noticable although it seems to be sucking on the rocks around them quite a bit. only been in there 10 minutes, how long do you all usually let the vegtables sit before deciding there not gonna eat the rest ?

and how often do you feed he fishes veggies ?

Last edited:

jobeak

Medium Fish
Mar 13, 2006
Sligo, Ireland