Huge tank

Jun 18, 2010
Well, I'm a newbie to this site. I was recently at a neighbor's garage sale, and he was selling a large 100 gallon tank for 200 bucks with a hood, but no stand. (I know where I can put it though) I looked up 100 gallon tanks online and this is an amazing deal, it's in need of cleaning though, I would still have to buy decorations and a filter and heater.

I was looking up fish, and I really like the following fish, and was wondering how they would do.

Different Malawi cichlids
Synodontis catfish
Blood Parrot cichlids
Banded Leporinus
Redhook Silver dollar
Silver Shark
Suckermouth Catfish
Tiger Oscar

I have learned about cycling and everything, I kept native fish with my turtles before, so I learned all about that. I just want to know if the fish will fight or something, or if there won't be enough room. I just am a newbie to fish compatibility.

Thanks for the help!*thumbsups

Matt Nace

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Pennsylvania
See I would Keep the malawi Cichlids and not stock the others. I have about 30 Mbuna(and tons of babies) and 1 hap in 150 and Peacocks,Haps and a few Mbuna in a 125....There is a ton to choose from in each group from that lake area just make sure you research a little to make sure they will mix.

Jun 18, 2010
Hmm, well, I don't want JUST cichlids. I do like Peacocks, and the others I like are Blue Johani, Yellow Lab, and Bumblebee.

If I do go with a setup without african cichlids I may also buy Denison's Barbs and Kissing Gourami.

Hello, Canis. Be sure to water test the tank before setting it up (let it sit full for 24 hrs).