I am a fish noob - Questions

Feb 28, 2007
:( I feel kinda lost and I don't even have fish yet. I have so many questions, some are probably really stupid ones, but I need help.

I am getting fish soon, so I decided to do a practice tank cleaning. (20gallons)

Once I figured out how to use the silly siphoning device. I realized my water was slightly yellow, so I am boiling my drift wood AGAIN. Is my water ok? Since it was yellow, I removed almost half of the water.

Secondly, I got kinda confused when adding new water. My bucket does not have any measurement lines in it. But I figured out that it holds about 7 liters. So then I got confused about how much conditioner to add. And you have to add it to the water in the bucket right? Not after you put the water in the tank? And is it normal to have some bubbles and be able to see small particles in the water? Or is it a sign of my water being crappy?

Any tips for figuring out how much conditioner in? Do you measure how much water you take out or is it all by eye? What happens if you add too much? I assume the fish will get sick or die?

What do fish normally do when you are cleaning? Will they try to hide somewhere or just ignore you?

And the temperature...it seems cold. I have it at 80F and it is slightly cold to the touch. Is this right? For some reason I thought it would feel warmer.

Lastly, how important is the amount of gravel you have? At the stores, they have like 2-3inches. I honestly cannot afford to buy that much gravel. Is it ok to have less? What are the pros and cons of having more/less gravel?

Oh wait, one more :p Carbon. I have been reading on here that it isn't that great of thing to have in your filter. If you remove the carbon filter (I like the idea of making my own), is there something you should or do differently to take the place of the carbon?