I am new to Bettas

Ok, so i am new to all fish keeping. I was told by the pet store that it was ok to keep a betta in a bowl. So i bought the fish, a Red Male along with a 1/2 gallon bowl. I got it all set up and it looked not so comfortable. I am worried now, and have done tons of research online and now know a lot of things i should have known before. I AM going to buy him a 10 gallon tank ASAP. but i was wondering what would be good things to get for the tank.

what heater?

what plants?

what accessories?

what kind of gravel?

I am asking to get answers from people who actually know bettas thoroughly and are experienced in keeping them alive and well.

Thank you!

Mar 7, 2008
welcome to the forum and to fishkeeping. i recently got a betta myself and love it. i inherited a 3 gallon eclipse tank from a friend, kicked out its residents and moved him in there. he is pretty darn happy in there. and despite what many people say, he love the tiny current from the filter. those leisure time is still sleeping on rocks or leaves.

i don't have a heater for mine and you probably won't need one, but for a ten gallon tank a 50 watt heater would do you fine.

i have two live plants in mine (anubias and somehting else, both inherited) but i guess it all depends on what kind of tank you want to keep, planted, or simple

and that leads me to gravel... if you go planted you could use something liek eco-complete or flourite, but you can always use regulare gravel fomr the lfs that you rinse and put it. it is all to personal taste.