I need youall to help in my garden

Hello

I'm a novice aquanaut. I like Rainbow fishes especially Melanotaenia and Glossolepis. I have a 55g that I had retiered that I'm bring back (this time full of plants). My hopes are to create a aquatic garden for these fish and for my family to enjoy. I need this forum for the comradery, understanding, experiance and solutions as I journey up this aquapath I've chosen. My names Bert how the ___ are ya.

Last edited:

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Eco-complete is supposed to be good. Flourite is also a good substrate. Flourite is about $20 per bag (depending where you get it), and I think you would need 3 bags in that size tank. I think Eco-Complete comes in smaller bags, so you might need 4. You should aim for a substrate of at least 1.5", but 2 or 2.5" is better. It will make it easier to aquascape. You can mix either of the above with gravel if you want to save money, then supplement with root fertilizers.

I don't have a problem with the Magnum 350. You might want to add another hang on back type filter if you plan to stock fairly heavily with fish.

I would suggest you get between 2 and 3 watts per gallon of light for the widest choice of plants and good growth potential. If you are good at DIY you can build your own lighting system with parts from home improvement stores. If you use 30w 24" bulbs, you would have to fit 4 of them in the hood, or 5 if it's physically possible. AH Supply also has parts, or you could see if they have a 3 x 55w fixture that would suit your needs.

There is a nice plant database here: http://www.plantgeek.net/plantguide.php where you can search for plants by a number of factors. That way you can choose plants that suit your light levels and placement in the tank. If you choose the easier ones to start off, you should be all set :) Many of the online sites have plant assortment packs that might suit your needs.

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003