I think my otto got ich

meagheavz

Medium Fish
Aug 13, 2007
i notice today that my otto, had little tiny small white dots on his fins,one on his body, thier very very tiny, im not sure if it is, so i put some ich meds in(wardley essentials ich away) all i had. turned my water blue, and i put the heat up...you think the heat will effect my other fish??.. i have white cloud minnows (there " cold water fish) put they seem fine in my 75F tank...also on that note my otto's dont eat the agle wafs

JWright

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Snowy Upstate New York
www.cnytheater.com
Sounds like ich to me (does it look like salt sprinkled on the fish?).

I have no experience with that particular med (I generally use salt to treat ich), but Wardleys makes good stuff. Follow the dosing suggestions, make sure you've taken and carbon out of your filter, and keep the tank medicated for at least a week after the symptoms disappear.

~JW

meagheavz

Medium Fish
Aug 13, 2007
yeah i guess u could say salt like fine grain salt..i just put aquarium slat in aswell. i think i def have ich though and i just found another fish with it too..my cherry barb ;(..why do u take the carbon out??wut happens if u cant?

meagheavz

Medium Fish
Aug 13, 2007
i hav it around 81/82, witht the ick away by ward;ey, im just scared my other fish will bug out with warm water.... i dont have anpther tank, and 3 of them have it, so if 3 have it im sure the rest will get it and ill have to treat them too..

JWright

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Snowy Upstate New York
www.cnytheater.com
Your other fish will handle the temperature increase without a problem.

~JW

P.S. If you're going to expect other people to take the time to read and reply to your posts, it's courteous to at least give your posts a quick proof-read to take care of any glaring typos. It would make your posting much more understandable...

meagheavz

Medium Fish
Aug 13, 2007