I wanna know if this Med really works

HAAA

Large Fish
Mar 2, 2008
Inland Empire
It called Correct pH Tank buddies it said it will give me a pH of 7.0 I dont think this would work but i would like you opinions

alter40

Superstar Fish
Nov 26, 2007
Charlotte, NC
Usually its a bad idea to mess with your Ph. Your fish are much better of with just the stable Ph of your tank then if you try to mess with it. Not only does changing the Ph make things more difficult on you, but it can also cause swings in your Ph if your not careful too. The large changes of Ph can cause stress to your fish and probably kill them if it happens enough. I will admit I'm not an expert on this stuff but I'm pretty positive that you don't really want to mess with your Ph.

Any other opinions to back me up or prove me wrong would be great. :D

cgbender

Small Fish
Jan 24, 2008
Insted of messing with chemicals, look into reverse osmosis water. It can be found outside of almost any grocery store .... $0.35 a gal .... with a ph of 7 and its free of chlorine and other things you don't really want in your water. NOTE .... though small water changes you will get the desired ph.

Last edited:
Most of the time any fish you're going to buy will be fine in whatever ph your tap water is. Just make sure that you introduce the fish gradually from the fish store water to your water.

The exceptions to this are if you are raising certain cichlids (in which case you need to raise your ph, not level it off to 7) or you are trying to breed certain fish (which usually require something other then the neutral 7).

Messing with the PH usually just means that you are going to stress the fish whenever you do a water change - because the ph will flux.

MissFishy

Superstar Fish
Aug 10, 2006
Michigan