I Would Like Everyone's Opinion!

Sep 10, 2006
Denver, CO
Good day everyone. I have a question that I would like your opinion on.

I had a friend give me a 55 gallon tank and stand. I repaired and refinished the stand and I have cleaned and sanitized the tank. I also filled the tank and let sit for awhile to make sure there was no leaking issues and the tank is sound and true.

I have been a freshwater guy for awhile and I do really well with it. The fresh water tank is a 55 gallon also. I was thinking about making my new 55 gallon tank a reef tank. I am just beginning the process of doing research on saltwater setup.

I would appreciate any advice from you guys as to the following: How difficult is it to maintain a reef tank?, what equipment would you reccomend? (I have nothing but the tank so far), Is it wicked expensive?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Steven

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
Steven, I would suggest reading through all of the stickies at the top of the Saltwater forum as they contain a LOT of the information you're looking for. Also, you'll find in those threads that most people suggest getting a book or two to read. Freshwater and Saltwater are SO different from each other, it is a pretty steep learning curve and yes, it is very expensive :) Overall its worth it though, as long as you have the $$ and the time.