Ich

alex8111

Medium Fish
Aug 31, 2007
Recently, one of my fish has been scratching on rocks. I read that this could be an early sign of ich.

Unfortunately, I have no knowledge on treating ich. I don’t have a quarantine tank (yet). I do have a sump.

Is it possible to use the sump as a QT tank? Also, I am not in favor of using chemical medications to treat the fish. It will also be nearly impossible to remove the fish from the main tank. Too many hiding places and the fish move in “supersonic” speed…

I have been reading a lot about feeding fish garlic with their food. I wouldn’t be surprised if that was a good prevention method as garlic really does work in mysterious ways. If everyone in the world knew how beneficial garlic is to our health, there wouldn’t be any garlic left. But a lot of people don’t believe in the power of garlic so more for me…:)

But I’m not sure if it will work on fish since I know nothing about fish diseases, etc.

Has anyone ever tried feeding garlic as a cheap and easy prevention method?

I know lowering salinity and dipping the fish in fresh water for about 5-10 mins. will cure the fish, but I assume those are for when the fish is already too deep in with the disease.

To simplify, I need to know these:

- Is feeding garlic every day a good prevention method?
- Can I use fresh chopped garlic or do I need to buy special treated garlic?
- Can I use the sump as quarantine?
- Are there any other treatments that I can apply without having to remove the fish from the tank. This would really be last option because it means taking out all the rocks, etc. A good day’s worth of work.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana