Ideas for a 30g!

Davie

New Fish
Oct 26, 2005
Hey hey, I'm a complete beginner at fishkeeping and looking to start off with a 30g tank. I am looking for some ideas to stock it with...I have researched extensively..but there is so much selection..I just can't choose!

I really would like active daytime fish and as such I was thinking maybe 3 pictus cats with some other fish...heh

Can you give me some suggestions =)?

In terms of plants, is it worth me trying to grow them as a complete beginner?...I have noticed references to java plants being easy to care for so should I go for them?

Thanks very much =)

Davie

jaglar

Large Fish
Sep 20, 2005
Victoria, BC
Ive heard that Pictus can/might/will eat anything they are put in with. I have not had them though. (they are cool looking though!)
I personally am in love with puffers and loaches.
For the plants I would pick a really easy low light for starters! they can be really easy if you find the right one for your tank. (I donno about java, dont have it)

An welcome!

Shaunna

Large Fish
Oct 6, 2005
Ohio
I am also new and I wanted to give live plants a go so I bought these bulbs in the fish stuff at wal-mart. You just drop them in there although they do better if you bury them and watch them grow. It takes them a little while to get started even though the package says 14 days. Once mine started it took it about a week to get to the very tip top of my tank. I am still waiting on the others to sprout. One has and I figure I can say the same for it this time next week. Really simple, really cheap. Doesn't hurt to try I always say. Good luck

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado