I'm a NEWBIE, HELP!!!

Mar 7, 2009
Germany
Hello,

I am new to the fish hobbie and loving it. I currently have a small 10 gallon freshwater tank with 3 zebra Danios and 2 Leopard Danios, and a few live plants. I am on day 10 of the cycling process and there is brown algae all over the glass and on the leaves of the plants, and there is green algae build up in the filter. I do 20-30% water change every two to three days. Is this normal, and if not what should I do, do I need to clean the algae out of the filter during the cycling process? Thanks for any advice you can give.
MK

MissFishy

Superstar Fish
Aug 10, 2006
Michigan
It sounds like you must be creating a perfect situation for algae growth. Is your tank in direct sunlight for any part of the day? How long do you leave your lights in the tank on? Are you overfeeding?

As a side note, a 10g is kind of small for all those danios, they really need a larger tank to swim around in since they are so active. Kudos to you for reading up on the cycling thing though! Doing the extra water changes won't do anything about the algae bad or good, so keep doing them regularly!

Mar 7, 2009
Germany
Thanks for the quick response

To answer you both Brian and MissFishy, one I already did the water change today and scrapped off the algae, I feed the fish about 2-3 times a day. For MissFishy, The tank is not in any direct sunlight, but I do leave the light on for a good part of the day, I'd say anywhere from 8am-10pm ish, The fish seem OK, Like I said I am on day 10 of the cycling process, I did the test today as well and Ammonia-2.0, Nitrite-5.0, Nitrate-5.0, and pH-7.6 . I know these are high, but heard that's normal during this stage???

brian1973

Superstar Fish
Jan 20, 2008
Corpus Christi, Texas