Initial Ammonia cycle

haricots

Small Fish
Jan 24, 2011
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
I'm relatively new to this, having been messing around with a 20G tank for the last 6 months and only just recently getting it stabilized and healthy. My wife bought me a 60G tank last week and I'm in the process of cycling it properly and patiently (as opposed to blindly jumping in to it like I did with the 20G). Anyway, l've had this 60G tank running for 6 days now with 3 (hopefully hardy) red eye Tetra's. My problem is I'm not detecting any ammonia yet (using a test kit obviously). Shouldn't this have happened already? I also took two rocks from the 20G and put them in the 60G thinking that it might speed things up. I also feed the Tetra's a pinch every day. The tank is heated to 26C. The pH is high (8+) but it's naturally high in my area and from what I have read pH should not be messed with unless it is causing problem with the fish, which it doesn't seem to be.

So, is there a problem or am I being a little impatient?

Thanks.

lauraf

Superstar Fish
Jan 1, 2010
Vancouver, British Columbia
Hi, welcome to MFT. You are probably being impatient - three tetras in a 60g won't make much of an immediate impact on ammonia levels. Do you still have the 20g running? If so you could always take some of the media from the filter on the 20g, and pop it in your 60g's filter.

aakaakaak

Superstar Fish
Sep 9, 2010
Chesapeake, Virginia
I used rocks, substrate, dirty water change water, and an old used filter from my 10 gal in my 29 gal. I never saw the tank cycle. It just showed nitrates. You effectively transfer your cycle from one tank to the other. Filter media is supposed to be the key. (Do this and watch for nitrates.)

haricots

Small Fish
Jan 24, 2011
Guelph, Ontario, Canada