Is it Ich, or something else?

namukoby

Medium Fish
Mar 30, 2005
I'm sorry for asking more ich questions. I'm new at this, and none of the threads I've searched have helped.

One of our cardinal tetras has a few white spots on it, as well as something that looks like a white mold, or fuzz. The spots could look like grains of salt, but they are smaller - I think, and there are only a few on it's head, sides and tail. I noticed the spots last thursday as I was feeding the fish just before we left for a week long vacation. When we came home today, nothing had changed. The cardinal still has the spots, but no one else does. It has no curved spine, and it is not flashing.

The cardinals were "refugees" from a friend who had them for at least 2 years before we got them the end of May. The tank has been set up, with fish, for just over 6 months. It was cycled properly, and today the ammonia and nitrites are at 0, and nitrates are somewhere between 5 and 10. I just added another upside-down catfish and a snail on August 9 - other than that, nothing has changed since May, when the cardinals and angels were added.

I was planning on increasing the temp and adding salt, but I'm not sure I want to do it unless it is necessary. Plus, that is going to take a lot of salt.

Thanks in advance.

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Don't increase the temp, and I wouldn't recommend salt unless it's ich. If it's fungal or bacterial, the higher temp will only make the bacteria or fungus grow.

I would recommend treating the tetra outside the main tank with Melafix and Pimafix, and see how it goes. Cardinals are pretty sensitive to stronger meds, so I wouldn't do it unless absolutely necessary. :)

namukoby

Medium Fish
Mar 30, 2005
Thanks,Lotus.

I removed the cardinal - my they are fast! It is just in a big jar, though, cuz I'm still looking for a used Q-tank.