Is this a good deal?

Oct 28, 2005
Boone, NC
hey, i'm new to the saltwater scene, but down at my LFS i overheard a lady trying to sell her 30g long SW tank. The attendant at the shop knows i've been on the lookout for another tank, and he motioned me over to listen. he told her that for a 30 gallon SW setup she could expect around 50 for the tank and gear, maybe 75 with the fish included.

I got her number and gave her a call yesterday, and i'm going out to her house tomorrow to take a look at the tank before i go ahead and buy it.

She has the tank, Skilter filter (dont know the model # exactly) leftover 50lb bag of instant ocean, a backup filter, about 30lbs of live rock, a couple corals, one anemone, power compact light setup, along with backup filter stuff, light timer, powerhead and a stand/hood. As for the fish, as far as i was able to gather, she's got a 6 line wrasse, a false percula and a yellow tang(tang police, i know... i'll be returning it to the LFS as soon as i get the tank)

what i'm wondering is... should i just buy the tank when i go out there tomorrow? regardless if the fish are included? her tank is completely established, and she says she's never lost a fish. It seems like a really good deal to me, even if i just bought the tank/filter/live rock it would be more than 50 dollars at the store.

Jan 16, 2004
Syracuse, NY
75 for it all? Thats a damn good deal. My skimmer alone was more than that, and I got a good deal on it too. Thats a really good deal.

Yeah best to rreturn the tang.

Maybe you can have the store hold your fish for you while you get it all set up at your place then put them in when its all ready to go.

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
That's a good deal even without the fish. You'd be hard pressed to get the tan and lights for that new, let alone the filters, rock, and fish. That set-up had to cost over $250...

OCCFan023

Superstar Fish
Jul 29, 2004
New Jersey