is this tank too small!

Sep 29, 2008
im an engineer and have a 30g planted tank, i was looking on ebay and saw some cool 3 neck boiling flasks that are 1000ml that would look cool on my desk. would it be possible to turn 1 into a tank? house maybe 1 cardinal tetra or something like that? or is 1 liter way too small for even 1 tiny fish?

sombunya

Large Fish
Jul 25, 2008
So. Cal. USA
Not sure what they are, but fish need to have a filtration system. Constant water changes would be stressful, I think. And without a filtration system you'd need to do water changes. I'd think you could keep one Guppy in a quart container provided you had the proper filtration, water movement, water biology etc.

If you don't know what cycling a tank is, nitrifying bacteria, Nitrites, Nitrates, Ammonia etc., I'd suggest you search this forum or the internet. These are very important things, no matter what size the fish is, with regards to fish health.

ishar

MFT Staff
Jul 27, 2007
Hamilton, ON.
sorry man- as I have found out, being an engineer doesn't count for a whole lot when it comes to fish lol. Well unless you are like a chem or biochem engineer anyways.

But yeah, that is the same principle as having a fish in a bowl, yet even worse due to the tall profile. It wouldn't really work, as much as we would want it to :p

Sep 29, 2008
o i was saying im an engineer because the flask is like a cool mad sicientist look. i understand fish tanks, hence i have a 30g planted tank. i would make a mini canister filter for it. the flask is a sphere with a 6" diameter. it would have every aspect of a large tank, i.e. filtration, aeration, gravel (very small amount) maybe a tiny plant (dwarf hair grass possibly) i was just asking is 1 liter of water just way to small for even 1 fish (or some shrimp or something)

Pure

Elite Fish
Nov 1, 2005
Jacksonville, FL