Is three spot better than pearl???

babypink

Small Fish
Apr 8, 2004
Richmond, BC
Visit site
Hey guys, im pretty new to this forum and i was wondering if anyone could HELP!!!! any would be very MUCH appreciated!!! :D

I have a 20 gal tank with 2 platies, 1 bristlenose pleco, 6 tetras and 1 pearl gourami.. So, today i decided to buy a three spot gourami just coz their pretty... i took it home put it in the tank and BOOM... my pearl started attacking!!!!

I didn't know wut to do coz the guy at the fish store said that they should be okay... so now my pearl is being fish sit by my cousin in her tank!!! :(

So, I did some research and apparently three spot gourami is more aggressive than pearl towards other fish!!! is this true???? i have no experience with gouramis before except for my pearl which i've had for a while and i have never had any problems with him!!

Please help! I do like my pearl coz i have had him for a while... is there any possibilities to keep em together????

thanx a bunch in advance!!! *laughingc

ashleigh

Superstar Fish
Jan 8, 2004
Missouri
Visit site
Sorry to say, evidently not. I would keep them separated. The thing is- with anabantoids (in general) there is no way to predict how they will get along. They are really interesting fish with a lot of personality, but those personalities can cause problems at times. The best thing to do, in my personal opinion is not to combine them unless you have either a very large tank where they can have their own territories (this is just gouramis, obviously)or a "contingency tank" to which you can remove an individual who doesn't play well with others. Any chance you can set up a ten gallon for one of them somewhere?