I've stepped over to the dark side

phin

Large Fish
Oct 21, 2009
I've been keeping a freshwater planted tank for the past 9 months and was fairly successful with it until about 6 weeks ago when I experienced a major genocide in my tank and lost most of my plants as well. So naturally I got a marine set up to try my hand at.

For $75 on craigslist I got:

29 gallon tank w/stand
2 coralife T5 30" fixtures
--2x 31w 10,000k
--2x 31w acitinic
200w in-tank heater
aqua tech 30-60 hob filter
maxijet pump/powerhead
1 bangaii cardinal
1 brittle star
1 emerald crab
1 blud hermit crab

plus: loads of dead coral, salt mix, hydrometer, food, and other extra stuff.

The lady who sold it had a reef tank, but twice had all her coral die off and decided to sell it all than to try a third time.

So, basically, I know very little of what I'm doing. I haven't had a chance to read the saltwater forum yet, but I plan to. But before that, I have some questions...

• How critical is it that I get a skimmer? Would a skimmer allow me to reduce water changes from weekly to monthly or longer, assuming the same population in my tank?
  • What skimmer is recommended for a 29 gallon tank?
  • Right now I'm going to keep the tank a FOWLR, and I've purchased a small 1/2lb piece of fiji rock, already cured and added it to my tank. how many hours of light a day should I keep on the tank with no coral?
  • Since I added the live rock I've noticed a colony of little critters have invaded one of the other rocks in the tank. The critters are 1-2mm long, opaque with little legs and move quite quickly. They appear to be feasting on some reddish looking algae that is on that rock. Any idea what these critters are?
  • The temp of the tank is at 82F with lights on and gets down to about 80F with the lights off by morning. The heater is set at 76F so all the heat comes from the lights. What can I do about this, and is it a problem?