just started a 10 gallon SW tank

Feb 3, 2005
im a newbie to saltwater tanks so hopefully this can be a thread where i get my stupid questions answered and other newbies can learn from.

Got a 10 gallon kit which had a heater, underground filter and other crap. I bought an aqua clear 20 and installed both the HOTT filter and the underground filter. I also put in a bubble wand to increase aeration. Is the underground filter really necessary? if not, i plan on just leaving the grid in and taking out the tower for aesthetic purposes.

my LFS had LR supposedly from Indonesia. I got three large peices with tons of crevices, holes, caves, etc. one of hte peices even has a small coral on it. I also used Kordon's Coral Beach as my substrate.

I was hoping to put some fish and other invertebrates. any suggestions? i was thinking some clowns, shrimp, possibly an anenome when i get proper lighting?

Also, the person at my LFS suggested that i not put the carbon media in the aquaclear becuase it wasnt necessary and she said just to put the sponge and the biomax. do you guys have any suggestions?

I also bought my water from them. It was 2.50/gallon for the water straight from their display tanks. They said with this i could immediatly put fish and animals in. The LR was also in a tub so im guessing that it is already cured?

I was thinking that i should get a shrimp or some other "cleaner" animal to start out with. Should i get a Percula or two as well?

Thanks a ton all.

Last edited:
Feb 3, 2005
well, i got some measuring tools and my salinity was 34.5 and specific gravity was between 1.025 and 1.026. My pH read around 8.2 and the ammonia was "non detectable"

i think im gonna go ahead and stock it lightly right now

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
DONT STOCK YET!

what about nitrite and nitrate?

and remeber, stocking "lightly" is all you will be able to do. at the most, this tank should hold a pair of perculas