Killer Guppy

Feb 3, 2014
Hi, I have a problem with a murderous guppy!
I had 2 swords (1 male and 1 female) 2 mollies (1 male and 1 female) 5 guppies (2 males 3 females)and 2 goldfish (sex unknown) in a 90 litre tank. I fed them as usual yesterday morning with no problems, came back at dinner time to 3 dead male fish! Whilst trying to fish out the corpses I have also noticed I have 3 guppy fry. Since the massacre I have been hyper vigilant and have noticed my lone male guppy is chasing all the other fish. Now I don't know if I'm looking for a fish to blame or I have a bully on my hands but would appreciate some input as I'm rather new to this and don't want to replace the fish only for the murderer to have his wicked way again!

Thanks

Newman

Elite Fish
Sep 22, 2009
Northern NJ
check your water parameters for ammonia, nitrite and nitrates. let us know what they are. sounds like your tank may be overstocked and water quality killed the fish.

FreshyFresh

Superstar Fish
Jan 11, 2013
East Aurora, NY
Chesney, what's your water change schedule?

Like said, hopefully you have a water parameter test kit and can get a read on ammonia, nitrite and nitrate.

Plus you've got cold water fish mixed with tropicals. That's no good. Goldfish should be kept with goldfish & no heat.

Feb 3, 2014
I have done water tests and they're all fine so it's not that. I was told that the goldfish were fine to have in the tank as you can put cold water fish into warm water but not the other way round. So any other suggestions?

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA
What FishDad means is we need the exact numbers for the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. "Fine" doesn't really mean anything. Also what temp is the tank at? Oh, and Welcome to the forum!!

Feb 3, 2014