lighting a 20gallon high

rennocneb

Medium Fish
Oct 10, 2003
Visit site
Hi im looking at buying a light system for my 20 gallon high fish with live rock currently. really just looking to really get the live rock going. but possibly corals in the future. The systems im looking at are the coralife aqualight and the custom sea life smartlite both are 65 watt 50/50 single bulb strip lights is this enough light for my tank?

Sep 12, 2003
Springfield, MO
So you have 130 watts of light on a 20 high, That is 6.5 watts per gallon. You also have a high tank. If I were you I would double the light if you have the money. If you want to to corals you will need lots of light for them to do well (for most corals). I am new to saltwater but have been doing a lot of research and I would say the more light the better.

Are you running a Protein Skimmer?

Jan 19, 2003
Stavanger, Norway
Visit site
What corals do you want to keep? Decide that, then pick your lighting - there are plenty which will do well in your current setup and plenty that will fail miserably.
Watts per gallon is about as reliable as inches per gallon stocking rules - take with a large pinch of salt. And being told between 2 -5 watts per gallon - what sort of range is that, minimum = 40% max reads pretty crude

supahtim

Large Fish
Jun 30, 2003
Toronto
watts per gallon means nothing. i have 150w of lighting on my 30g tank, and that's not nearly enough for what i want.

if you are looking on keeping coral, look into metal halides. they are the next best thing to actual sunlight, but they are also deadly when it comes to heat. actinic bulbs will get your coraline algae growing and they are also great for coral.

it's also harder to light up a tall tank because the light won't penetrate the water as well, so you'll need more watts and that'll end up heating up the tank.