Lighting Question for New 29g Setup

Mar 19, 2006
Okay still being a newbie I am trying to make sure I have the right lighting setup for the fish package I plan on getting. Could some one please tell me what they think. Here is the beginning package that I am looking at purchasing which includes fish and corals.

Red Fromia Starfish 1.5-2"
Royal Gramma .75-1.25"
One (1) Small Ocellaris Clownfish .75-1.25"
One (1) Medium Ocellaris Clownfish 1.25-2"
Long Tentacle Anemone 3-5"
Cleaner Shrimp .75-1.25"
Yellow Polyps 3-4"
Fluorescent Green Star Polyps 3-4"
Crocea Clam 2-2.5"

I currently have a light fixture with 2 55w power compacts one is a 10k and one is a actinic blue. The depth of my tank is ruffly 16-17" any help would be greatly appreciated.

Personally I'm thinking this won't be enough lighting for the clam, I'm thinking I might have to go with a metal halide, if that is the case does anybody have any recommendations? The width of my tank is 30 inches, so I'm assuming I might have to either lay a 24" fixture on top of the glass cover or possibly try to mount some sort of fixture to my canopy.

Feb 6, 2005
Waterloo, ON Canada
When you say "beginning package" it kind of scares me...I hope you don't plan on adding these all at once, or even anytime soon???

From what I recall, your tank is a 29g w/10g sump and has been up and running for approximately 2 weeks now. This would mean in about another week or two; as long as your water perameters permit, you will be ready to add in a clean-up crew (ie. snails & hermits etc...). Then in a few weeks following you will be ready to start stocking your tank "SLOWLY".

Your lighting is not to bad, but I would say you are correct in that it will not be enough to support the Crocea Clam; although you may be able to get away with it if it is place near the very top of the tank.